In this section


Dominion Executive Council

The Dominion Executive Council (DEC) is the national governing body of The Royal Canadian Legion. DEC members are comprised of the Senior Elected Officers, elected at Dominion Convention, including the Dominion President, the First Vice President, three Vice Presidents, the Treasurer, the Chairman, and the Dominion Immediate Past President. Members also include the President of each Provincial Command and Special Section. Other members including the Dominion Grand President and Chairs of the Defence and Security Committee, the Constitution and Laws Committee, and the Ritual and Awards Committee, and others as appointed by the Dominion President, may attend but are non-voting members of DEC. DEC meets semi-annually as well as pre and post Dominion Convention to carry out the work entrusted to it by the last convention or the General By-Laws, and to carry on the business of the Legion. Find more information about the Dominion Executive Council in Article IV of the General By-laws.

Royal Canadian Legion Strategic Plan 2018 - 2026

The Going Forward Committee developed a Strategic Plan for the Royal Canadian Legion for the period 2018 – 2026. The Plan was approved by the Dominion Executive Council and presented to Delegates at the 2018 Dominion Convention.

Code of Ethics

Members of the Dominion Command Council and/or Committees are committed to observing and promoting the highest standards of ethical conduct in the performance of their responsibilities. Accordingly, Dominion Command requires all members of the Dominion Command Council and/or Committees to accept the obligations set out in this Code.

DEC Meeting Minutes

To support internal communication, transparency and accountability, the minutes of Dominion Executive Council meetings are available below. Questions or requests for clarification on DEC meeting minutes should be directed to your Legion Provincial Command. 

Dominion Committees

2018 - 2021 Dominion Committees